Golf help.

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by onlyone, Apr 20, 2006.

1. onlyone

onlyone New Member

State:
    SE Kansas
    I am just a beginner golfer. Whats a good brand of new clubs (a set) for around $200?

2. Ol Man

Ol Man New Member

State:
    Illinois
    I agree with John. When you first started fishing, did you buy a yacht?? You may find it's not all it's cracked up to be, then your *new* clubs end up in a yard sale. I used to really enjoy golf. Then it got to the point one had to stand in line to get on the course. To me, golf is supposed to be relaxing, but when you have a bunch of pokea$$es in front of you and some fireballs behind you, it ain't much fun...

The light which attracts the moth will also attract the fish, for it is the fish which will ultimately be eaten.Lee Ackrill.

3. Pogo

Pogo New Member

State:
    North Carolina
    After 45 years of teaching Golf, I still believe that you should buy the best of any sports equipment that you can afford ... but that doesn't necessarily mean the most popular, nor most expensive.

Dunlop is still making about the best there is for the money ... I say that because I've been in on the design and production of several club lines and they use as good a component as anyone out there and asssemble them with utmost care.

Most of what you see advertised is "sales hype". It's tough to sell a product that, essentially, hasn't changed in design since about 1894. Oh, to be sure, there are new materials and we've improved production consistency immensely, but a club is still just a spring with an off-center mass on one end. Coming up with something different for the new model year can be very tough when the design remains the same, there only four component parts and they don't move.