Go Fly a Kite

Discussion in 'Misc Fishing Tackle Talk' started by tkishkape, Aug 15, 2007.

1. tkishkape

tkishkape New Member

State:
    Gore, Okla
    I've been working on a BDS (Bait Delivery System) to carry a bait about 1500 feet from my closest legal anchorage below a dam. I want to be able to place a bait at the face of the dam between the tainters where the water continuously leaks and draws baitfish and big blues.

I use a balloon rig floating on the water and carried by the eddy current back toward the gates, but the baits never get but 1000 feet from the boat when they begin to drift back toward me. This does produce fish, but the bait won't go to where I want it to. So I studied some more.

In Oklahoma, we have a prevailing wind from the South which blows directly into the downstream side of the tainter gates at L&D16. I thought about adapting the proven saltwater technique of kiting.

So far, the correct kite has not been found, but it looks promising. I started with a standard dime-store plastic kite. It towed my baits almost 400 feet before the weight of the line and bait combined caused it to stop progressing away. Next I tried a medium power 36" wide kite which carried the bait to 500 feet... but still need more power. I am going to try stacking two kites together in tandem and see if that helps.

For those to whom this is a new exposure, the kite is held down by a 2 liter soda bottle partially filled with sand to the point that the kite cannot lift it. The soda bottle is attached to the kite line. The fishing line is attached to the kite line using a clip similar to a downrigger clip so that when a fish strikes the bait, the line is released and the fish is retrieved normally with the rod and reel.

The AFCO brand fishing kite is so expensive that I'd rather find an alternative, but it may be the only way to go.

What help can a brother BOC member offer?

2. kingdawes

kingdawes New Member

State:
    kentucky