Gizzard shad vs. Herring?

Discussion in 'MISSOURI RIVERS TALK' started by bck1006, Jun 22, 2006.

1. bck1006

bck1006 New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I am wondering what the better bait is this time of year. I went out this evening and caught some shad and a few herring. I am just wanting everyones thoughts on what they have had the best luck with.I also want to know if there is any certain way to cut them. I have herd cut the tails and let them bleed and it will attract more fish.Any info would be a great help.I fish in Missouri at Weldon springs and I'm just getting into catfishing and have yet to boat but a few fish.Thanks!!!

2. Cuz

Cuz New Member

State:
    DeSoto, MO
    I like the threadfin herring rigged alive for catching numbers of fish. I prefer the large gizzard shad (10 inchers) for going after the large fish. I'll rig one rod with a large live gizzard shad, and I"ll rig one rod with a large cut gizzard shad. I cut the tail off my mine just slightly below the stomach cavity so that the gut pocket has a very small opening for the contents to leach out into the water. As well, I usually will make three or four small slices down each side of the bait for blood dispersion. Whichever you use, I think its more important to keep your baits fresh and present them properly. Change your baits every 30 minutes as a good rule of thumb. If I'm hole sitting, I'll take my old baits and cut them into little pieces and chunk em over board. Keeps the bait fish around the boat which hopefully lures the big boyz in. Hope I've helped a little. Good Luck

3. cross_their_eyes

cross_their_eyes New Member

State:
    Show Me State
    If you can get them; herring. I've caught several brutes this year on both but I believe herring has out produced the shad. One you get them throw them on ice and when your ready to fish; cut them just like Cuz. Oh, fish the current on the missouri, anything less then that won't produce. Period!

4. catmankev

catmankev New Member

State: