Gizzard shad on Hartwell

Discussion in 'SOUTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by droptine77, Oct 21, 2007.

1. droptine77

droptine77 New Member

State:
    Anderson, SC
    Have any of you experts out there had any luck catching gizzard shad on Hartwell? I have no problem catching threadfins but was wondering were to look for the gizzards? Like rip rap, shallow flats, or deep water? Any advice?

2. chrisblue

chrisblue New Member

State:
    SC
    Well I'm not an expert and I dont have any experience catchin them on Hartwell because I always bring my bait with me but big nasty gizzard is one of my favorite baits and I spend alot of time tryin to catch em.

The longer, shallower, muddier creeks are about the best bet.They stay shallow for the most part, 15 or shallower most of the year but they will go deeper in the winter but they will still come back to the back of the creeks in the evening after the sun has warmed the shallow water all day.They make this migration just about everyday and 30 minutes before dark is about the best time to be in the back of a creek in 5 foot or less throwing.Always keep your eye open for flips on the surface but dont let that be the deciding factor on wether you throw the net there or not.Boat ramps, grassy areas, at the base of docks and seas walls and riprap and anywhere else algae can grow are good areas to key in on.Sometimes you just have to blindcast until you get enough, I know it sucks but thats part of the game.

They move alot, you might find one creek that you can catch them consistantly in for weeks and then they all of a sudden move to another one.Just keep that in mind.