Gizzard shad and cold temps

Discussion in 'SOUTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by foothills, Nov 19, 2007.

1. foothills

foothills New Member

State:
    South Carolina
    how do the gizzard shad typically respond to colder temps or a strong cold front...also what do they feed on in the colder months in south carolina lakes/reserviors??

2. pop pop

pop pop New Member

State:
    Lake Green
    Foothills I really can,t say . I'm no expert, But we hammered'um in 2 to 3 ft. of water today. I think they move around like most fish. It's just a matter of finding them.:wink:

3. AgentDuder

AgentDuder New Member

State:
    South Carolina
    Im kinda new to catching my own bait. I have been using frozen cut bait. How big of net do you use and with how much weight?

thanks for the help..

4. GMC FishHauler

GMC FishHauler New Member

State:
    Waco, Texas, Un
    we look for a sandbar that comes from deep water on the downwind side of lakes. This way we can throw and get them deep without having to worry about stumps and brush.
    Sometimes during heat of day we will see them or find them up on the sandbar

5. jtrew

jtrew New Member

State:
    Little Rock, AR