Getting discouraged...what's wrong?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by justbfishin, Oct 5, 2009.

1. justbfishin

justbfishin New Member

State:
    Hope Mills
    I just wanted to share how I've been fishing and see if it sounds like I'm on the right track or if I'm still missing something.

I'm new to catfishing. Me and my buddy have gone out on the cape fear river 4 times in the last month without catching one fish bigger than a baitfish.

Here is a summary of what our trips have looked like.
    1. Fished from about 6pm to 10pm. Used some stink bait and some night crawlers on carolina rigs. Tried fishing around some bridge pilings and a couple of log jams. Stayed at each spot about an hour. No fish.

2.Fished from 6pm to 10pm. Motor wasn't running right so only moved around very little. Fished around a couple of log jams. Used cut eel on carolina rigs and night crawlers on corks. No fish.

3.Fished 7pm to 11pm. Tried a big log jam that is under a bridge (got hung up a lot), fished in front of this sewer plant, a couple other log jams. Used frozen bream as cut bait (heads and strips of the body). No bites.

4. Went to a different spot on the river, a locke and dam, from 7am to noon. Used the frozen bream again on carolina rigs. Fished mostly in front of and right around the dam but also the outside of a bend in the river and some log jams. No fish.

Are we not being patient enough? Should we sit in one spot all night even if we've never had a bite, nor caught anything at that spot before? Should we be using carolina rigs if the bait is not live?

I used frozen bream b/c I had caught some earlier in the week and frozed them, but when I went to the pond before we went fishing I didn't get any bites, but I would like to catch some live bream to take fishing.

Any advise as to what we should try next would be appreciated. Thanks!

2. Swampfox.

Swampfox. New Member

State:
    Louisiana