Gas grill to the smoker?

Discussion in 'The BOC Diner' started by daniel-delarosa, Feb 3, 2008.

1. daniel-delarosa

daniel-delarosa New Member

State:
    seminole, oklahoma
    I am new to smoking and I have a hard time keeping the temp regulated in my smoker for hours on end. I came up with the idea of putting my brisket in my gas grill for half or 3/4 of the cooking time, then popping it in the smoker. It seems like a good idea, but will it turn out ok? The last time I smoked I did ribs and they had too much of a smokey flavor to them. I figured using the grill then the smoker would mellow out the smoke taste. I have already started the brisket but I'm stressin' cause I want it to turn out good for tonight.

2. lawnman61

lawnman61 New Member

State:
    Fort Worth, Tex
    There is nothing wrong with doing that, regulating your temp on the smoker takes practice and also having a good quality smoker. I don't cook on the small smokers.
    You have to have the right venting to regulate your temp.
    I love the smokey flavors and so do the judges when competeing in cooking contests. Depending on the type of meat your cooking is how I determine the type of wood I use to flavor it with.
    We use alot of Mesquite and oak and Apple wood.

:wink::big_smile:
    Don't get discouraged, keep on tryin, practice makes perfect.

3. spoonfish

spoonfish New Member

State:
    Warsaw, Mo.
    Should work fine as long as you keep the heat down on the grill or place the meat to the side away from the direct heat.