Gars and Catfish in the same holes?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by STUMPKNOCKER, Jun 11, 2006.

1. STUMPKNOCKER

STUMPKNOCKER New Member

State:
    Georgia
    Fishing the altamaha river yesterday, kept missing fish .figured wrong hook, i was using a 7/0 circle sea, switched hook finally hung one, the fight of my life got him up and it was about a four foot long gar, the rest of the day and night continued to lose fish to gars reeled up half of my bream, question is do flatheads and gars stay in the same holes or after a gar bites do i need to move? any advice is appreciated i am new to flatheads thanks.

2. Redd

Redd New Member

State:
    Southeast Kansas
    Around here, usually the channels and smaller blues are right behind the gars. They'll try to eat their eggs is what I heard. But it definately sounds like gar were biting your bait the whole time. It seems like the gar will hit it twice as fast as the cats. It gets annoying, but eventually I'll usually get a cat.

-Red

3. chrisblue

chrisblue New Member

State:
    SC
    Heres what I've been finding out lately.If you can find a hole where your bait sits there longer than about 30 minutes and no gar picks it up than theres more than likely a flathead there.I think the flatheads will run gar out of their holes.

4. vlparrish

vlparrish New Member

State:
    Bedford, Kentucky
    Carl, if I have a problem hooking fish more than five or six times and have proof that a gar is the culprit(like teeth marks on bait) I will move to another location. Eventually you should be able to find a hole that will hold more cats than gar, but you must be willing to move. Vern

5. Rob Heflin

Rob Heflin New Member

State:
    Mississippi
    Buddy of mine used to work with our fisheries department. He's told me that several times while sampling/studying fish in the river, they would pull flatheads out of nets that had regurgitated gar in their mouths.