Gallatin Steam Plant

Discussion in 'LOCAL TENNESSEE TALK' started by tntitans21399, Dec 12, 2007.

1. tntitans21399

tntitans21399 New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Since I'm still learning and plan on going out on my first catfishing outing in the next couple of weeks, not my first fishing I did bass fishing during the summer, but I was wondering if maybe trying near the Gallatin Steam plant would be a good spot to start. I usually put in at Cedar Creek if I'm going to Old Hickory or Elm Hill Marina on Percy Priest, so if you know of any other spots to try out please any advice would be great.

2. cumberlandcat

cumberlandcat New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Well I am mins. from there so if you are going out let me know, I haven't fished it to hard but I imagine that warm water comin outa there is good for bait and where the bait is the cats should be.

3. john catfish young

john catfish young New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    The Gallatin Steamplant is a good spot to fish. If you want to catch a big striper, they are there. If you want to catch a big cat, they are there too. I fished there for many years and caught many big fish. If your in a boat, you can fish many different areas of the steamplant. I would recomend cut skipjack. I would also try to fish the main river channel for big cats. You can go to the intake area and fish near the skimmer wall. There have been many big cats caught there in the past. Good luck to ya! Hope to see some pictures soon.

4. cumberlandcat

cumberlandcat New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Do you cut the skips or use them whole, I didn't think strips would like cut as well as whole bait I caught a 49lber on cut bait but that wasn't intended.

5. john catfish young

State:
    Kentucky