Full Moon Flathead Catfish Fishin'

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by Snagged2, May 11, 2009.

1. Snagged2

Snagged2 New Member

State:
    Verde Valley AZ
    Well, went out 2 days before the full moon, and managed to catch one 7# Flathead,,
    had some zings and zips on the rigs, but, mostly turtles, I think
    Went out Sat night and I got skunked,, for Flatheads, The Channels were in rare form, and seemed to have a very nasty disposition,, Was all we got any interest from during the full moon..
    so, did we waste out time Flatheadin' during the full moon??

2. centexcop

centexcop Well-Known Member

State:
    Texas
    I don't think there's ever any time wasted while fishing. I always thought that a full moon would be good because it causes people and animals to act crazy. I have caught good fish on a full moon, but I think the experts would disagree about it being a good time to fish. I'm no expert, but then again I don't always listen to the experts.....:eek:oooh:

3. Flatheadhunter33

Flatheadhunter33 New Member

State:
    Yuma, Arizona
    I wanted to get out last weekend but couldnt with Mom's day shopping and all...im going out this weekend though. Count on it.

4. jagdoctor1

jagdoctor1 New Member

State:
    CA/AZ
    You know my position. I spend alot of hours on the water compared to the average person. I was also fishing both friday and sat night even though I can say that last year, I fished enough full moon nights to say that they suck for flathead. I recently read an article that mentioned that the nocturnal nature of flathead makes them weary on bright nights. You know here in the desert the full moon is basically daytime.

5. Snagged2

Snagged2 New Member

State:
    Verde Valley AZ
    Very Good point, That actually makes some sense,, regarding the Full Moon,,

6. waynesburgjay

waynesburgjay New Member

State:
    Pennsylvan
    I usually never do good during the full moon when catfishing, even when it's cloudy out.