freshwater aquarium help

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by zoelife, Sep 4, 2006.

1. zoelife

zoelife New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    I spent over 15 years in the tropical fish biz and have seen and heard just about everything that can go wrong with fish/fishtanks as well as live plants.
    I have been injecting co2 into most fishtanks I have owned since 1990.and if one wants a great way to control PH without all the chemicals,and yet get great plant growth..co2 is a great way to accomplish that.
    So,if anyone is having problems with their fishtank or wants to just share whats going on with theirs feel free to post any and all questions or comments.
    By the way I currently have a 75 gallon which is co2 injected..
    Peace and Plenty,
    Kevin

2. gcarlin

gcarlin New Member

State:
    Richmond ,Indiana
    Thats a really good post and a helpful one.

3. janton311

janton311 New Member

State:
    Wichita Kansas
    I have a 125 gallon salt water tank. A couple months ago it got over run with hair alge and it killed almost everything:angry: ...I've never done the co2 thing.

4. zoelife

zoelife New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    Thanks Greg for your words.I hope this will be a great help for others. :)
    WOW Jason,a 125 salt...now we know who has the money..:smile2: I played with saltwater a bit ,but basically found it too expensive to be worthwhile.
    hair algae,have dealt with it quite a bit in freshwater tanks and it can usually be traced to high phosphates.how long have you had it set-up?and when you say it killed everything,did it kill off fish and inverts?And did it kill them as it was dissapearing,the one thing to watch out for when killing algae in any system when one has alot of it is to beware of the O2 depletion which happens when algae dies.
    Do you have a protein skimmer hooked up to your tank?