Fresh Frozen Shad?

Discussion in 'Shad Talk' started by handsomejack, Aug 13, 2008.

1. handsomejack

handsomejack New Member

State:
    Ilinois
    I'm very new at this and could use some advise.
    When shad are available does anyone freeze them for later use?
    If so, is there any special way of preparing them for fishing?
    I have some spread out on cookie sheets freezing and plan to vacuum bag them after they freeze. Will they still be good bait or am I just wasting my time and smelling up the freezer?

2. Boomer

Boomer New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    I freeze them in water, they wont be soft, but about the same as you put them in the water.

I also freeze my fillets the same way, no freezer burn.

3. switchback

switchback New Member

State:
    Illinois
    i wouldnt vacum seal them it will suck the oils out of the shad that and the guts is all the catfish are after. I freeze them when i get them because i dont have a throw net. But i seem to have pretty much the same luck with fresh or frozen.

4. brother hilljack

brother hilljack New Member

State:
    Shelbyville, TN
    I have good luck with them fresh or frozen. I also vacuum seal

5. jtrew

jtrew New Member

State:
    Little Rock, AR
    As you can see, some folks do quite well with frozen shad, but I've had such poor results that I won't even give them space in the freezer. Now, skipjack are a completely different matter; they freeze great! My advice is for you to freeze a relatively small amount of shad, then test it against some fresh shad. See firsthand whether or not it works for you. (This is a great example of the fact that what works great for one person in one situation doesn't work at all for someone else in a different situation...or location.)

6. Blakemo

Blakemo New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    Any other advice on how to freeze them?

7. jtrew

jtrew New Member

State:
    Little Rock, AR