Fox River flathead catfish

Discussion in 'ILLINOIS RIVERS TALK' started by bigkittyhunter, Mar 12, 2007.

1. bigkittyhunter

bigkittyhunter New Member

State:
    illinois
    Im new to fishing for catfish in rivers, could any one give me some pointers on fishing the fox by the dam in st. charles?

2. Shawn

Shawn New Member

State:
    Illinois
    I've done most of my catfishing on the Fox the last few years. There's some nice channel and flathead cats in there, for sure. No real monsters, but some good solid fish.

What were you looking to do - shore fishing, launch a boat, setlining?

Shawn

3. vegasryder

vegasryder New Member

State:
    illinois
    St.Charles use to produce alot of Flatheads...I had no problems catching them with only a couple of hours fishing at night.But that was 3 yrs ago...Now,i would be lucky to get even 1 month.The spots i use to hit is bombarded with bucketheads(Thats what i get for telling people were to go).My biggest one was caught in St.Charles which was 42 3/4"in.That was 4yrs ago.

I dont know if they still have the chain link fence by the dam...but if they dont,try to fish the side of the dam where the current breaks.As you know,the cats will tend to hold there and wait for easy food.I would use no less than a 2oz sinker as the current runs pretty quick there.It`s snag heaven there also,You probably alreay know that...You should also work the hell out of the pillars...north,south,sides of the bridge.Best bait to use for channels there would be cut strips of bluegills(1-2in).Hope that helps...I`m usually there 4 nights a week.So if you see a couple of asian guys...come by and say hi.

4. bigkittyhunter

bigkittyhunter New Member

State:
    illinois
    Shoreline fishing

5. Shawn

Shawn New Member

State:
    Illinois
    I don't know a lot of shore fishing spots; the St Charles and Geneva dams have both been pretty good in the past.