Fort Leavenworth "Lake"

Discussion in 'LOCAL KANSAS TALK' started by jgarner, Jul 15, 2008.

1. jgarner

jgarner New Member

State:
    Kansas-Leavenworth/Topeka
    the wife and i hit up the ponds known as lakes on fort leavenworth this evening right around dusk...we managed to pull in 7 rather small (1-2 lbs) channels...she got 6 (the only fish she's caught in the last 4-5 years) and i only got 1...they were biting really good, and really hard, but for some reason i couldn't set the hook on the bites:angry:...any advice on that?? i thought it might be because they're so small, but then again, i'm new to the catfishin' game...

2. brother hilljack

brother hilljack New Member

State:
    Shelbyville, TN
    I love it when my wife outfishes me..................as long as I catch fish also. Sounds like a good trip overall. Congrats and keep us posted

3. KC Jayhawk 78

KC Jayhawk 78 New Member

State:
    Kansas City, Ks
    Downsize your hooks if all your catching is small ones. :big_smile:

4. Catfish Shawn

Catfish Shawn New Member

State:
    Carbondale, Kansas
    How are you doing J? You need to try using some circle hooks just like what me and erik was using.

5. jgarner

jgarner New Member

State:
    i thought that might help so i picked some up yesterday, i'm gonna try and go back out there tonight and get that one that kept nearly pulling my pole in...probably isn't too big, but i wanna find out:wink:!!!

how ya been shawn?! tell the wifey i say hello and good luck with your little one man!! if you're ever in the area give me a call and we can go hit the missouri river...

6. Catfish Shawn

Catfish Shawn New Member

State:
    Carbondale, Kansas
    I will take you up on the offer brother. Little one is doing good and should be here in a few months. LMK how those hooks work.

7. jgarner

jgarner New Member

State: