Force motor

Discussion in 'Bubba's Outboards' started by Bushwhacker, Sep 4, 2007.

1. Bushwhacker

Bushwhacker New Member

State:
    Alabama
    I am looking at a boat that has a Force motor, 75 horse 1997 model. I have been told they they are not good motors. I need some advice, motor seems to be in good shape runs good and supposedly has less than 300 hours on it.
    Thank you in advance

Bushwhacker

2. AwShucks

AwShucks New Member

State:
    Guthrie, Oklaho
    Not everybody drives a Cadillac or Hummer either. They make things to fit a certain populations wallet. Force is just about as good as any comparable priced motor. Perhaps the gripes you have heard is from the guy who couldn't afford or didn't buy a Mercury or Evinrude.

3. Bushwhacker

Bushwhacker New Member

State:
    Alabama
    Thanks for the reply. I have an old Mercury on my fishing boat, the force is on a pontoon I am looking at, which will be a fishing boat as well. Like I said it runs well, I am new to the boating scene and I had heard from a couple of people that the force had a bad reputation.
    Thanks again for the reply

Bushwhacker

4. Mark J

Mark J New Member

State:
    Four Oaks, NC
    What does Willard say about them motors?
    Dont walk, run from them.
    One of the issues you face with a Force is parts.
    The other issue is they are well known for not being good motors.

If I was buying used, I would use the fact that it has a Force on it to chew him down.
    Hes not selling a boat with a Mercury or Evinrude so dont pay Mercury and Evinrude prices. Get it cheap and motor shop.

5. Bushwhacker

Bushwhacker New Member

State:
    Alabama
    Thanks for the reply,great information.

6. JERMSQUIRM

JERMSQUIRM New Member

State:
    il-waynesv