fly fishin

Discussion in 'Trout Fishing' started by flannelman, Dec 3, 2005.

1. flannelman

flannelman New Member

does anybody here do any fly fishin? im just startin out and wonderin if anybody has any tips for a beginner

2. flannelman

flannelman New Member

i could use any tips like different casting techniques, which fly to use for which season, how to read trout streams

3. T-Bone

T-Bone New Member

State:
    South of Dallas
    I can't give ya any tips, cause I'm not very good at it. I've tried off and on for two years. No Trout here in Texas (except some TPW ponds), I try to catch Blue Gill and Bass. Once I caught a 8" Bass, WOW ! I've caught a few Blue Gill and boy was that fun !

I'll be watchin' this thread to get some tips myself.

4. willisjj

willisjj Guest

I am also a fairly "novice" fly fisherman, but as far as casting the best thing I can tell you is on your back cast make sure and stop your rod at "12 oclock" and make sure your line straightens out completely behind you before pushing your rod forward to the 5 o'clock position. Try not to put too much wrist action into it or you will end up with a very sore wrist like I did at first. It doesn't take a whole lot of power either. Its a little tricky to get the hang of after years of fishing with regular casting rods and lures but it ain't bad once you get the hang of it. Remember that you are casting the line, and not the fly.

5. tncatfishing

tncatfishing New Member

State:
    clk. tn