Flurocarbon or Monofilament Leaders

Discussion in 'Fishing Line Review' started by Les101, Jun 8, 2009.

1. Les101

Les101 Guest

I've been using flurocarban leader for two years now and I'm noticing that it seems to become brittle. I have found nicks in it from structure and whwn I pull on it it breaks like cheap glass. I never had that problem with Mono. It is Stren Vanish braid and Stren Fluro leader.

2. brownie525

brownie525 New Member

State:
    Nj
    i use 40lb Berkley big game mono for my leaders, very abrasion resistant

3. Les101

Les101 Guest

Thanks Mike that was my next choice. I used to used Cajun Red but I just wasn't satfied with it. The stuff is tough but it didn't hold knots very well.

4. Crucial

Crucial New Member

State:
    Virginia Beach VA
    I have never expierenced what your describing, however there may be a couple of reasons. One is I change my leader material every couple of sessions tops. Often every trip and some times (if i notice nicks, fraying or worn segments) a couple times a trip.

The other possible reason is because I don't use the same brand as you. That may or may not have a bearing on my experience compared to yours.

But, what you describe sounds like typical UV damage (the brittle, glass like breaking)of mono's. But Fluoro's are not sensitive to UV radiation and generally 2-3 times the life span of mono.

I would start out by trying a new brand. See if you have the same results, that way you will know if it's something your doing (like leaving it exposed to the sun, or near some sort of cheical in your shed... ) or if it's the line it's self.

Once you find out if it's the line or you... the problem will be easier to resolve. But none of what you describe sounds right for a spool of new fluoro..

5. Les101

Les101 Guest