Fletchings...

Discussion in 'Bowhunting' started by massa_jorge, Sep 28, 2007.

1. massa_jorge

massa_jorge New Member

State:
    TEXAS
    i have my bow dialed in right, and have been experimenting with different types of fletchings. i tried the el cheapo allen 5" vanes and they actually improved my shooting, and were more durable than the vanes that came on the arrows when i bought them. after a few hours of shooting, the vanes that came on the arrows were crinkled and deformed, making the arrow fly well, not so straight. just got back from academy with a pack of blazer 2" vanes. have not put them on yet, i was wondering if anyone on here has tried them, and wanted to see if i could get pros and cons on their experiences with them. if it matters, i am shooting carbon wolverine 60-70 arrows with 125 grain field points on them. my hunting points are the muzzy 3 blade, also in 125 grain. i am new to all this so any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

2. jeffw51

jeffw51 New Member

State:
    mo
    five inch vanes are more stable in flight but they slow your arrow down.two inch vanes are very fast but have little stabilizing ability especially with your 125 grain muzzys,they may be a tuning nightmare.two inch fletchings are really designed for small field points and competition.i would stick with the bigger fletchings maybe 4 inch instead of 5,but choose a high quality brand that wont deform when shot.if you fletchings are deformed you should make sure they are not making contact with the rest.

3. MattShannon

MattShannon New Member

State:
    WV
    I just had the 2" blazers put on a couple nights ago. Shot them quite a bit at the shop and am happy w/the results.

4. CountryHart

CountryHart New Member

State:
    missouri