Flathuner Takes Up Bassfishing?

Discussion in 'LOCAL OHIO TALK' started by H2O Mellon, Dec 10, 2008.

1. H2O Mellon

H2O Mellon New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Earlier this evening I received an email from Jack that was really suspose to have went to someone else. Here is the email:

-From Flathunter

"Thanks for the response. I'm new to fishing for Bass. I'm finally trying something new because the trips to the payponds for catfish are getting boring.

So what is the best way to fish rubber worms, is it drop shotting, or bouncing them off wood while using the Carolina rigging system?

I am used to conventional baitcasters such as Abu 6500's, should I try to get a low profile reel such as an Abu Pro Max? I hear the thumb bar release plus the flipping switch on the low profile reels are a real plus.

The river that I fish has some deep holes near cover. Should I try throwing deep diving crank baits such as the Mann's +15's or stick with something such as a Rapalla Husy Jerk?

I'm completely loss on line. I only use 20-40 $ Big Game line. Now that I'm going to be targeting a true Ohio Gamefish such as the Largemouth Bass, should I look for a low stretch mono, or go with a super braid?

Rods.... Where do I begin? Right now I' looking at a few 6'6" graphite rods, made by St Croix, All Star and Falcon. What should I be looking for specificallyy? Do I need a specific rod for plastic baits and a specific rod for crankbaits?

My main goal, although it will be a hard one is to top my buddy Bryan Mellon's PB Ohio Largemouth of 8.5#. I know he's a true wildriver catfisherman now and would never fish for Largemouth but I just feel like I need to catch a nice trophy Largemouth to be somewhat like him.

Again thanks for all your help. I can't wait until April when your going to show me how to stalk for those Big Female Largemouths that are on the beds.

I'll talk to you soon.
    Jack"