Flathead catfishing the Muskingum River

Discussion in 'OHIO RIVERS TALK' started by flathead79, Aug 29, 2006.

1. flathead79

flathead79 New Member

State:
    wv
    hi everyone i'm new to the boc i was woundering if anyone could give me any information about fishing for flatheads on the muskingdom river at the locks mainly lock 2/3 and luke chute i caught numerous channel cats at these loctions and only a few small flats any ideas

2. vlparrish

vlparrish New Member

State:
    Bedford, Kentucky
    Josh, you might get a few more replies about the area, if you post the same question in the WV section under WV Talk or WV Rivers Talk. Vern

3. flathead79

flathead79 New Member

State:
    wv
    i am new to the boc i was woundering if anyone could give me any advice on how to catch big flatheads on the muskindom river at the locks 2/3 and luke chutes i have caught numerous channels at these locations ive tried bluegills and creek chubs caught a few small flats i have had a probem latley with gars any suggestions on this also

4. loanwizard

loanwizard Well-Known Member

State:
    Coshocton,
    Welcome to the BOC! All I can tell you about Luke chute is there is great walleye fishin in the whirlpool area during the spring. I have never fished Devola but would love to. The Beverly lock I know like the back of my hand. For channels try below the spillway and any fallen timber. There is a washout that goes to about 10-12 feet below the dam whereas the rest of it usually is 4-5 feet deep. Currently it should be just about 3 feet. The first creek downstream (Wolf Creek) has a 20 foot hole and my favorite spot (I caught my very 1st flathead there) is a sharp turn in the river across from the golf course on 60. Nice deep hole slow but steady (and strong) current. I have not been downstream of there much at all. Almost forgot. I had friends down there that liked fishing the mouth of a very small feeder creek on the right before you get to the big hole.

Good Luck,