Flathead catfishing from the bank

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by Believer, Jun 25, 2006.

1. Believer

Believer New Member

State:
    Greenwood, AR.
    Ok, guys. I need some encouragement here. I'm new to fishing for monster fish & have yet to catch one. I've been trying though. I have used shad, blue gills & gold fish with no luck.
    My problem is that I am stuck on the bank. How many of you guys have had luck catching big fish from the bank & is there a trick to it?

Thanks!

Eric

2. Memphis_Catfish_King

Memphis_Catfish_King New Member

State:
    Memphis,TN
    this fish in my pic was caught from the bank ..try asking Ur local bait shop for ideal bank fishing spots or goto Ur fav fishing hole n just talk to ppl..or look for structure or deep holes if fishing a river ..u can tell deep wholes bye seeing eddies ,..im sure some these more experienced guys give u more info but this is what i do plus try throwing everything at them but the kitchen sink...lol

3. liveforcattin08

liveforcattin08 New Member

State:
    ohio
    i do all my fishing from the bank and do great, just gotta find the fish and put the time into catching them, i think most of the people fish from the bank, not sure though maybe someone could set up a pole and everyone could vote, but i dont nkow how

4. kurt

kurt New Member

State:
    ohio
    If your fishing a lake look at you dnr site and see if they have a map of your lake. Where we fish there is an old creek channel that runs through the lake. IF yours dose to try and pinpoint spots where you know the channel runs through. If there isnt a channel try to find a deep hole close to some shallow flats, and cast between them. I think that the cats live in in the holes, and come out to feed in the flats. I fished for a whole year without hooking into a big one, then I caught two in less than a week. Also have you tryed fishing a river, or creek? We fish around structure in our local creek and there are some monsters in there.