Flathead Catfish - Seasonal Structure Movements

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by Salmonid, Jan 11, 2006.

1. Salmonid

Salmonid New Member

State:
    SW Ohio
    In conjunction with FLathunters post about habitat ( I didnt want to Hijack that thread) my question relates to Spring vs Summer Flatheads.

It has been my experience with flats and channels ( Reminder:Im no expert) that in the Spring, flats tend to be driven to the rip rapped and flat rocked areas while in post spawn, they tend to be more "wood" oriented on Mud Bottomed pools. I have noticed this through 30 years of river fishing for non cat species and now that I am truly focusing on Flats and other Cats, wanted to know if my observations were correct or not

Im sure someone on here has a thought or two on that "theory", lets hear it!

Salmonid

2. Netmanjack

Netmanjack New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I think your right Mark, reason being In the spring the fish are actively seeking prey,they need to build up their reserves for the spawn. So they head for the nearest cafeteria, any structure that holds bait fish,like rocks. In the summer I think they like the deeper wooded areas also.It gives them a better place to ambush prey. This time of year they don't need the extra energy for the spawn and can afford to be lazy. Waiting for the food to come to them. expending less energy.

3. dinkbuster1

dinkbuster1 New Member

State:
    Ohio
    spring till spawn they (flats and channels) will be in the shallows near wood or rock strucure scoping out spawn sites, following food, and because the shallows are warmer then. after spawning they will tend to favor deeper water and will stay there till its time to roam and feed. until a few years ago i used to have trouble catchin big fish till after the spawn, finally figured out that i was fishing the deeper areas too early.

4. SangamonCatKiller

SangamonCatKiller New Member

State:
    central illinois