Flathead catfish season?

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by dcaruthers, Jul 31, 2006.

1. dcaruthers

dcaruthers New Member

State:
    Alabama
    Need some calender info for flatheads. I am new to the flathead hunt and wanted to know what is the calendar/temperature range for flatheads. Do you all quit after a certain date, or do you wait on water or air temp? I just finished my boat and am about ready to hit the hunt hard here in central AL.

2. Flatheadhunter33

Flatheadhunter33 New Member

State:
    Yuma, Arizona
    I would have to say that it depends on location and tactics. I know that around here in Az they say that the catfishing season pretty much stops in late October to early November. I have seen some guys still catching Channels as well as Flathead through January though...I have also seen some pictures on here of cats caught with snow in the background...

3. chris45601

chris45601 New Member

State:
    ohio
    I've heard it doesn't stop the fish slow down a lot you won't catch as many but you will catch size, Thats from my understanding. I plan on doing it all year around may not hit it as hard around bow and muzzle loader season

4. dcaruthers

dcaruthers New Member

State:
    Alabama
    I have the channels and blues down patterns figured out. I'm asking specifically for flatheads. I read an indepth article that pretty much said flatheads are inactive during winter months. Something about them just laying on the bottom half covered with mud and let the current put water for oxygen over their gills. I fish the Alabama river near Montgomery for flatheads so this is the only area I need info on.

5. RiverKing

RiverKing Active Member

State:
    Yellow Spr
    I think the best time to catch BIG flats is in the fall time

6. weathermantrey

weathermantrey New Member

State:
    central,sc