flathead catfish in the day

Discussion in 'LOCAL VIRGINIA TALK' started by CatsNstripers, May 20, 2009.

1. CatsNstripers

CatsNstripers New Member

State:
    Smith Mountain
    I'm not good at it. plain and simple. I've caught them in day, but a few people can produce time after time. I just cant seem to get the hang of it. But this spring here on my home lake, Smith mtn lake. Really baffled me. Alot of people were catching flatheads during the day, fishing for them and accidently. heard about alot more flats caught then i normaly do. I've tried, just no luck, always ended up catching channels and stripers. Can i ask what are looking for during the day time? I've got to be doing something backwards during the daylight hours. I guess its about time to totaly fish at night for flatheads, atleast on SML the boat traffic gets aweful bad.

2. Steelheadmaster

Steelheadmaster New Member

State:
    Christiansburg, Va
    I was thinking of hitting SML in a day or 2, I hear that boat traffic is the worst of anywhere there... true?? I've only got a single man pontoon boat and its terrible to operate while big boats are blasting by me all the time.

Bobby

3. keepitsimple

keepitsimple New Member

State:
    virginia
    95% of the flatheads we caught this past month were during the day, and we caught some pigs. During the day we do the hunting for them and never sit on community holes. I don't know anything about SML but here I sit no more than a hour and move on to something new. Plus big bait = big fish and helps keeping the small off.

4. screamnreels

screamnreels Member

State:
    Halifax county
    couldnt have said it better Keepit ,we usually fish where no one else will.look for the anything to fish under and it doesnt have to be much, just a little shade usually works well..And most of all BIG BAIT!!!!
    Usually do best when there is no boat traffic..