Flathead catfish help

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by matt, Jun 19, 2006.

1. matt

matt New Member

State:
    Anderson SC
    going out for flathead this wednesday i would love some help from all yall flathead lover like me be wanting one all year doe any body know what kind of bait they love and are they deep or shallow in hot weather and what is your favorite bait for them any help will do thanks matt

2. Drawout

Drawout Active Member

State:
    Paris.Texas
    Not sure how your water is right now but i would definatelly try and get some live bluegill to use for bait. Good Luck

3. Flatheadhunter33

Flatheadhunter33 New Member

State:
    Yuma, Arizona
    please understand that I am a novice so, like you, I too am learning as I go. I have been using live blue gill, cut blue gill, and chicken livers and a whole lot of patience...

4. TxRiverman

TxRiverman New Member

State:
    Lockhart Tx
    Matt I would use live bait to entice a big flat(blue gill,carp,what ever is legal in SC),flatheads are cold-blooded so as the water gets warmer their metabolism increases.This will cause them to burn energy just sitting still,not to mention chasing prey,so i would fish real tight to cover,put the bait right in their face.I wouldnt fish any deeper than 9'.

5. CBH

CBH New Member

State:
    WV
    I use live and cut 'gills...but here lately, the cut bait has been getting the majority of the action!! I just take a large bluegill and cut the head off right behind the gill plate, then run a hook through the tail section, right above the anal fin.

6. matt

matt New Member

State:
    Anderson SC
    the weather been beween the 85 - 98 that is hot in the sun will they bite in that kind of weather ??

7. TxRiverman

TxRiverman New Member

State:
    Lockhart Tx