Flathead Catfish Comparisons

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by Salmonid, Feb 4, 2006.

1. Salmonid

Salmonid New Member

State:
    SW Ohio
    Ok, while Im no expert about Flatheads, I would consider myself an expert on Brown Trout and Id like to make a comparison to what I believe to be the 2 species are quite similar from what I understand in riverine systems.
    I guess from what I post regarding the Flathead side, Im cuious if my beliefs are correct. Im sure some will correct me if my logic is wrong and I invite them too.

As smaller fish, tend to be more outgoing and allow simillar sized fish to school with them.

Aged 2-3 finds fish starting to leave the home range and search out a new territory to call home.

As they get older, tend to become more noctournal and less tolerant of competition of similar sized fish.

Both are carnivourous and will eat there own young, or smaller fish of the same species given the opportunity

Both prefer live bait but are "opportunistic" feeders when it comes to scavenging.

Both may travel several miles nightly to feed

Both tend to look for 1 single larger meal per several days vs feeding nonstop.

When larger (spawning size), become complete loaners and will find a home and tend to live out its entire life there.

At spawning time, tends to migrate ( upstream usually, but not always)to learned spawning grounds looking for partners in spawning.

At this particular Pre and Post spawning time, large numbers of fish tend to congregate in these spawning areas.

These groups of fish are very competitive and will fight for breeding rights

These congregations of fish are easy to catch and must be released at this time to ensure future successful populations.

After Post spawn tend to migrate back to there home Range

Both feast heavily in prespawn and tend to rest during postspawn recovering and living off there reserves.

Tend to use the same spawning areas year after year

The bigger the fish, the more eggs produced