Flam City Fishing

Discussion in 'MISSOURI RIVERS TALK' started by Manny, Aug 7, 2008.

1. Manny

Manny New Member

State:
    Arnold, Mo
    Went out last night at Flam City, Put in at 7:00 pm and fished till 1:00 am.
    Caught 2 dinks on Sonnys and two 2.5/ 3 lbs. on fresh cut chad. Had one about 12:00 am break my line near boat, he slammed it then pulled drag felt big but dont they all. Also 1 soft shell turtle of decent size.

I know the Meramec is not the best for fishing but its close for me and im still learning. Going out again tonight a little earlier to try to catch bait. Just purchased a throw net. I was lucky enough to recieve a smallhandful of shad last night from someone leaving earlier for the small price of a couple of Millers.:big_smile:

Probably would of fished longer but had an Arnold cop stop by to tell me the park closes after dark. Hmmmm I never had been told that before and their was still two other boats out their but they were out of sight.:embarassed:

He wont find me next time. He told me that if im going to be here after dark that i need to inform the Police Dept. :confused2:

2. Kutter

Kutter New Member

State:
    Arnold, MO
    Really? Well, now isn't that interesting. (Sorry, the old cop in me loves it when I find a cop who doesn't know the law)

Current law as told to me by the Water Patrol is that the MO Conservation owns the park, but the city of Arnold manages it. MO Conservation rules apply. In those rules, you must leave the park before dark IF you are not using the park for launching or are fishing. This rule is there so they can run out folks sitting around partying. I can only assume that the cop took you for a party'er and not a fisherman.:wink:

There is no rule for calling ahead of time. Some folks do that I guess, but I haven't.

3. Kutter

Kutter New Member

State:
    Arnold, MO