Fishing trip for a week During End or Oct or Nov

Discussion in 'LOCAL TENNESSEE TALK' started by tntitans21399, Sep 9, 2009.

1. tntitans21399

tntitans21399 New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    I am from Nashville, live in East Nashville, but I am thinking of using my vacation week at work during the end of Oct or first week in Nov and just go to the lake all day and night to different spots each day. So I will be going to Old Hickory and Percy Priest. I am still new to catfishing and I have 4 big heavy duty catfishing poles from years ago and 50lbs test on them with some big hoos, can't remember the size, I'll try to look around and see if I can remember. Might be the Bass Pro CatMaxx Baitholder Hooks (http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/s...2_100000000_100010000?cmCat=CROSSSELL_PRODUCT)
    or similar, I think I have 3/0 size hook. I know it is a big hook which will be great for some huge catfish, but for normal size cats or sizes that I see most people cat in pics is that to big? I have some rotten shad tube sink bait and some dough balls. But since I'm new to catfish, I have been bass fishing for a little bit, still not great at it but love being on the water. I would like to give catfishing a try. I have been reading magazines, books, and this site, but any other spot, baits, and fishing advice from other locals would be great. I am going to try and catch a small fish and then try and the cut it's head and tail off and use different parts. I heard that was the best from reading this site.

Also I know by Oct & Nov a lot of boat traffic will be gone and I have heard/read, through magazine articles, that you want to be near the channel. So do you other guys just drift over the channel or anchor so you are right near the edge? Does other boats in the channel effect your fishing?

2. lforet2002

lforet2002 Well-Known Member

State:
    Tennessee