Fishing this weekend

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by cg4ksu, Aug 9, 2006.

1. cg4ksu

cg4ksu New Member

State:
    Nebraska
    I am relatively new to setting bank lines and need some advise.

I have really enjoyed this sight and have got some real good information.

I only have time to set bank lines once a year and this weekend is going to be it for this year. I am going to a small river in Kansas that we have pulled two 25 pounders out of last year.

We gennerally buy goldfish from the bait shop and have good luck with them. But I have also seen a lot of people on here suggesting bluegill. When we tried them last year they seemed to die rather quickly after getting them on the hook. I know of a place where I can take the kids to catch a mess of bluegill if I can keep them alive long enough for Mr. Flathead to eat it.

Also I was lucky enough to be able to go twice last year the first time we went we only caught 2 small channel cat, but we had to re-bait almost every hook each time we checked. Some hooks were even straighten or missing.

Does anybody have any good advise to share, bait or otherwise?

2. Gone fishin 4 kittys

Gone fishin 4 kittys New Member

State:
    Pittsburgh, PA

3. catfishjohn

catfishjohn New Member

State:
    Greenup Co. KY
    Welcome to the BOC!!!

4. cg4ksu

cg4ksu New Member

State:
    Nebraska
    The goldfish are generally 3 inches long.

I used the wrong term for fishing. We are going to set some limb lines and then fish with a rod and reel while we wait to run them.

Thanks for the picture. We hooked the Bluegill more twards the middle of the dorsal fin.

5. santeecat12

santeecat12 New Member

State:
    gastonia,nc
    well for flatheads you use whole bream or bluegill or thats what i use...or bullhead cats:smile2:

6. whiteriverbigcats

whiteriverbigcats New Member

State:
    Indiana
    I would recomend using shad this way also... but i prefer bluegill over goldfish.... But i do wish you the best of luck