Fishing the Leavenworth area of the Missouri?

Discussion in 'MISSOURI RIVERS TALK' started by comanchero, Jan 5, 2009.

1. comanchero

comanchero New Member

State:
    Minnesota
    I live in Minnesota and about this time of year I start dreaming of chasing cats in the new year. Trouble is all of our rivers are iced over and will probably be that way through early Arpil. Our pre-spawn catfishing doesn't really start until usually the middle of May. I'm thinking of making a fishing trip to the Kansas City area in April to fish the Missouri River for Blues. It is about a 7 to 8 hour drive from my home and I could be on the water and chasing cats. I'm an experienced river catman up here in Minnesota and have some nice flatheads and channels to my credit but I would like to catch a big blue catfish. Everything I've read says the peak of the action for big blues on the Missouri River is usually in April.

I'm a retired soldier so I was thinking of staying at Fort Leavenworth and using that as a place to stay. I'm thinking of about a 4 day trip from Minnesota - travel day to leavenworth and fish hard for two days and then a travel day home. I thought I would watch the weather in early April and when I see a nice stretch of stable warm weather about the 2nd week of April I would head for Leavenworth.

From the Missouri River maps I've reviewed there is a good boat launch at Leavenworth and at Parkville so I was thinking of fishing the Leavenworth to Parkville stretch of river. I looked at the Google satellite maps and I can see a lot of good wingdams to fish. I've got a good stable boat that I've fished the Mississippi with for years (17' Alumacraft, 70 hp Yamaha, rigged out for catfishing). I'm experienced in fishing wingdams and log jams and man-made structure for channels and flats so I planned on applying those same methods to chasing blues.

I have a few questions that I hoped my brother Kansas or Missouri catmen could help answer for me.