Fishing the channel

Discussion in 'MISSOURI RIVERS TALK' started by whiskers9512, Aug 29, 2007.

1. whiskers9512

whiskers9512 New Member

State:
    missouri
    When you guys are fishing the channel what should I look for to determine where to set up? I have mostly fished the head of the dikes and the flats behind the holes. I am just trying to pinpoint on what and where to set up if fishing the channel.
    thanks.

2. dougc

dougc Active Member

State:
    Independen
    Blake, my favorite daytime spots are outside bends where you'll find humps, drops etc. A lot of times I'll start at the head of the bend and work my way downstream from there.

3. Mr.T

Mr.T New Member

State:
    MO
    I'm not very good at fishing the channels myself, but my suggestion would be basically as Doug says - follow an outside bend, carefully keeping the boat positioned right where the bank and the river bottom meet. Look for depressions, humps, anything that can provide a current break.

The real trick, and the part I have the hardest time with, is putting the boat in the right position and putting the baits in the right position to take advantage of whatever structural element I just located. I still think it's a crapshoot most of the time anyway - the level of precision required to put your bait *right there* is, for the most part, not attainable on a fast-flowing river like the Missouri. You can get close and occasionally get lucky. But there's a fine line between luck and skill.

If you get a chance this winter, spend some non-fishing time out on the river once the water level drops way down, looking for humps and other "likely" spots - mark them all and come back next spring when the water is back up. I've got a dozen or so spots that I marked last year, just with all the flooding, etc., never got the chance to go back and really try them out systematically.

4. whiskers9512

whiskers9512 New Member

State:
    missouri