Fishing Rods recomendation? Help me Pick!

Discussion in 'Fishing Rod Review' started by master_cat, Feb 15, 2006.

1. master_cat

master_cat New Member

State:
    tennessee
    im lookin for afordable rods in the 8 ft to 10 foot range wats good brands and i need a rod that can handle a big slip bobber thanks

2. bigsammy

bigsammy New Member

State:
    Poteau ok
    I recomend Ugly Stik or Cat Maxx by Bass Pro.I own these rods and can testify these are all excellant rods.I also own others, but these I highly recomend!Never has one failed me yet.You dont have to have high dollar tackle to have a good time and catch fish.I fish as often as I can and these are affordable(in my opion)for me.The CatMaxx 8ft I paid 40$(sale at Bass Pro),Ugly Stik Tiger 7ft 55$,Ugly Stik Big Water 7ft 50$ new but I found for less at a pawn shop.

3. barbel

barbel New Member

State:
    Somewhere
    I dont know how abundant they are, but I got a Mudville Catmaster from Dick's Sporting Goods (8 ft.) for around 18 dollars. They are nice rods. I wouldnt try to tackle anything in the triple digits with them, but I think they would be excellent for anything up to around 50 pounds assuming you dont try to horse them too hard. They work great with 20lb. Berkley Big Game or Cajun Red.
    :0a26:

4. TeamCatHazzard

TeamCatHazzard New Member

State:
    Illinois
    I strongly recommend Surge Rods if you have somewhere in your area that sells them. They are a little more pricey in the $60 range but are well worth it. In my opinion they are the best rod out there. They have a really really strong backbone for reeling in the big ones and getting good leverage but a soft tip for detecting the little soft bites. All stainless eyelits and a lifetime warranty as well. If you want a good rod Id spend a little more to go with a Surge and trust me they are well worth the price!

5. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Check our sponser catfishconnection, they have good prices on rods.