Fishing large lakes

Discussion in 'Walleye Fishing' started by sms7599, Jul 30, 2009.

1. sms7599

sms7599 New Member

State:
    Iowa
    I am new to walleye fishing in large lakes. I have been river fishing for walleyes for alot of years but nothing i try in the lakes im now fishing are working any suggestions.

2. plainsman

plainsman New Member Supporting Member

State:
    minnesota
    Go to a bait shop and ask where they been biting, and what depth. Usually this time of year, they are near the bottom. I have never caught a decent size one, but they can be caught on minnows fished on a carolina rig with about a 12-18 inch leader on the bottom. A gob of worms is good under a bobber if ya find the right depth, and usually trolling near the bottom. They don't usually hit hard, its kinda a soft bite or light taps. They are sure good eatin tho.

3. richard84

richard84 New Member

State:
    ky
    i cant tell ya how to catch them but let me know if ya need any help eatin them :smile2:

4. Catfishnewbie08

Catfishnewbie08 New Member

State:
    TN
    I grew up fishing Lake Winnebago in Wisconsin and have done it mostly by trolling. I troll either spinner harnesses with night crawlers behind planer boards or use crankbaits such as shad rap or thunderstick. I've heard that Hot n tots are pretty hot right now. Watch the bottom on the fish finder for any humps, reefs, and weedbeds, if you find these you'll probably find the fish, whether you troll, drift or still fish.

5. PaJay-p

PaJay-p Guest

I could repeat word for word what Jamie said he hit it right on the head. Plus he's from one of the best Walleye lakes in this country.

6. sms7599

sms7599 New Member

State:
    Iowa
    Thanks guys that gives me some ideas to try out. I'm going out tues and weds. I'll let u know if I do any good.

7. Kat Head

Kat Head New Member

State:
    Erie, Pennsylvania