Fishing Hook placement for cut bait

Discussion in 'Blue Catfishing' started by flying_v_64, Dec 13, 2008.

1. flying_v_64

flying_v_64 New Member

State:
    NC
    Hey guys i'm rather new to blue cat fishing. When you use these large slabs of cut bait is hook placement critical? Can you use a double leader and place a hook at each end of the bait chunk?
    What's your favorite method of rigging cut bait? Thanks :big_smile:

2. catfish_clayton

catfish_clayton New Member

State:
    Catania, Italy,
    I use cut bait for fishing flatties. I just hook it once through whatever looks like the top of the cut bait. Never have to many problems with losing bait.
    :0a26:

3. alton

alton New Member

State:
    Illinois
    I would say the most important thing is to be sure plenty of the hook is exposed. There is no need to try to hide the hook. I like to use the octopus circle hooks. You need to use a hook with a wide gap so you can hook the bait once and leave the end of the hook exposed. Good luck.

4. blackwaterkatz

blackwaterkatz Active Member

State:
    Andrews, SC
    I've rigged with the "stinger" hooks before when I use large (6" chunks) of adult gizzard shad, with some success, but I really do almost as well hooking up with a single circle hook, wide gap, with the point well exposed. I seldom take the time to rig a stinger hook anymore; in fact, I rarely use those large chunks of bait, having caught some pretty large fish on smaller baits. :wink:

5. Sonny Kemp

Sonny Kemp New Member

State:
    Tn
    Vic Wildwolf Products has some real nice 2 hook rigs made up.Should be perfect for that.They are sponsors and I believe pics of rigs are on their website.Slider rigs is what they call them.Holler at Pete and hell help you anyway he can.

6. joesf

joesf New Member

State:
    Bloomington IL
    If your fishing in current put the hook through in a corner one time as to not plug the gap and to keep it from turning like a spoon.

7. olddriller