fishing gear

Discussion in 'NORTH CAROLINA RIVERS TALK' started by moldo, Jun 16, 2009.

1. moldo

moldo New Member

State:
    NC
    Since I am somewhat new to catfishing, I was just wondering what kind of rod/reel you guys use, what type of line, etc. I would also like to know whether the rod/reel I have is ideal for catfishing. Currently, I have an ugly stik catfish model with a shimano baitrunner and 20lb mono. I am thinking about getting 30lb spiderwire; I heard it is good line. I'd like to hear everyone's opinion.
    Thanks

2. whisker maniac

whisker maniac New Member

State:
    arkansas
    The rod and reel you have is a good one to start with and learn. The line you have on the reel is okay to start with too as long as you have your drag set right and not too tight. Just check the line frequently for abrasion and nicks and cuts in the line. Do best do that run the line between your lips. Your lips are 10 times more sensitive than your fingers and you will find the slightest nick in the line that way.

3. Snagged2

Snagged2 New Member

State:
    Verde Valley AZ
    Yes, sounds like you should be able to do well with that,, can always check out other types of gear and tackle later,, If you want..

4. quadrunner42029

quadrunner42029 Member

State:
    NC
    20 lb mono is more than enuff as long as u listen to these guys advice ive caught several fish over 20 lbs and up to 50 on 20 lb mono and even 17 lb mono, my adivce is use a bigger leader than your main line this helps to protect from cuts scrapes etc, and another tip take your time or you will be sorry. good luck buddy

5. moldo

moldo New Member

State:
    NC
    Thanks for the replies. So, what do you think about the 30lb spiderwire. Also, what test should be leader be? 30lb? 50lb?

6. catfishwillee

catfishwillee Member

State:
    Knoxville, TN