Fishing for Catfish in the coves

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by FAT_CAT, Mar 25, 2006.

1. FAT_CAT

FAT_CAT New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Has anyone had any luck EVER fishing for cats in coves of lakes and rivers? My family and I are looking into a little campground on Watts Bar Lake and we don't have a boat. I've heard mixed comments so far so I thought I'd ask you guys. When I was fishing for bass only I would occasionally see big cats strolling near rocky areas in the warmer weather, but this cove is your basic tree'd in area with depths at around 12-15' according to the dock attendant. This may be a newbie question...but hey, I'm still a newbie. Thanks.

2. Katmaster Jr.

Katmaster Jr. New Member

State:
    Wilmington, NC
    Yeah coves can make great catfishing sometimes. I have caught many channel cat's in coves in the lake I fish. And this cove is only like 3 feet deep. They only bite in it at night though, it's best in the Spring and in the Fall.:)

3. TNcat

TNcat New Member

State:
    TN
    Danny, about 50% of the time that is where Iam at! Certain times of the year are better than others for cove fishing but the spring is excellent when they are coming in to the coves from the deep. Any time that you are scouting a new area to fish, look and see if there are anything that the fish you are after can eat. And if you are after big cats, and there are bluegill, perch, etc other bait fish in that cove I would say that a big O whisker fish probably ain't that far away. Just my two cents.

4. brinley45cal

brinley45cal Active Member

State:
    kentucky
    Fishing those coves at night could would be great.Those bait fish will go up in there at night and the cats will follow them in to feed on them so id say go getem!

5. FAT_CAT

FAT_CAT New Member

State:
    Tennessee