Fishing for blue catfish from the bank

Discussion in 'Blue Catfishing' started by Believer, Jun 25, 2006.

1. Believer

Believer New Member

State:
    Greenwood, AR.
    Ok, guys. I need some encouragement here. I'm new to fishing for monster fish & have yet to catch one. My largest is a 15 lb flathead. I have never caught a blue, i've been trying though. I have used shad, blue gills & gold fish with no luck.
    My problem is that I am stuck on the bank. How many of you guys have had luck catching big fish from the bank & is there a trick to it?

Thanks!

Eric

2. Matthew72

Matthew72 New Member

State:
    Cobden Il.
    I caught a 7lb bluecat from the bank. I was using worms and a whiskersticker hook.

3. dreamer34

dreamer34 New Member

State:
    danville virginia
    i have cought many blues from the bank although they wern't monsters(10 lbs)..i look for a spot that has a washout and cast out into the current and let my bait(chicken livers most of the time ) drift into it

4. btmfdr

btmfdr New Member

State:
    missouri
    believer where do you fish mostly? if ther are wing dykes and you can get to them walk right out on to them, and spend your time fishing the whole perimeter, other than that if you dont have dykes id try to find a really sharp bend in the river(preferably with rip rap) and set up there.

5. drc3

drc3 New Member

State:
    Cleveland TN
    The best thing to do is get a topo map of your lake or river (if you don't already have one) and find out where the main channel is close to the bank. That's the worst thing about bank fishing for big blues, your not usually within casting distance of deeper water. All of my big blues have come from at least 25ft of water, not that they don't go shallow, but this time of year they will be deep most of the time. Check your map out for deep water next to bank and then find out if it is open to bank fishing. Main lake/ river points would be a good starting place.

6. drm1254

drm1254 New Member

State: