Fishin the lower Red River

Discussion in 'LOUISIANA RIVERS TALK' started by CatFreak, Sep 17, 2007.

1. CatFreak

CatFreak New Member

State:
    Louisiana
    Hello all fellow fishermen! Im obviously new to the site but an avid Cat fisher that is relieved to have found this website. I sometimes feel like a Freak cause I love to fish for big wiskers more than any other fish. See, I live in south LA (Lafayette Area), and all my friends go saltwater fishing or bass fishin..YUK. I have a 19' Fishmaster that is normally a Bay boat but I put it in the Rivers and lakes.

ANYWAY..enough about me and my tiny world............Lets talk Catfish!

Me and my son went to the Red River Near Alexandria Sunday and caught 15 nice size Blues and an Op. My profile pic is from this trip. We used live Perch and cut bait. Mainly early in the morning till around 10:00 AM. THen it came to a HALT! We tried a few hours after that but the luv bugs got so bad we couldnt breathe so we shagged tail.

Are there any local Catfish Tournaments that you know of?

I look forward from meeting all of you and learning from you MASTERS! Believe me, I need all the help I can get!

2. Katfishing Cajun

Katfishing Cajun New Member

State:
    Louisiana
    Welcome to the B.O.C. Mark, there's tons of info on here and everyone on here very helpful!!! As for tournaments, I haven't heard of any around here. I think around the upper Red they might have tournaments?? Nice catch!! Good to know someone that fishes the Red down here! I might have some questions for you down the road!! Anyway good luck fishing!!!:cool2:

3. CatFreak

CatFreak New Member

State:
    Louisiana
    Nice to hear from ya and thanks for the welcome. It sure is ggod to know Im not the only one down here that likes to Catfish. As far as questions, feel free but I warn you......I dont have a clue what Im doin. I just throw the line out there and the fish grabs it.

4. CatFreak

CatFreak New Member

State:
    Louisiana