First time using circle hooks...how bad can it be? LOL!

Discussion in 'Misc Fishing Tackle Talk' started by Flatheadhunter33, Jun 2, 2009.

1. Flatheadhunter33

Flatheadhunter33 New Member

State:
    Yuma, Arizona
    I know that a lot has been thrown around here on the BOC regarding cirlce hooks...I have never used them before. My local outfitter didnt have any wide gap hooks for me and the ones I have are missing runs big time....so I opted to purchase a pack of 7/0 wide gap cirlcle hooks from DIICHI (SP?) Im kinda worried about using them because from what I understand, if you try to set the hook the normal way, you'll miss the fish every time...I was told by the guy in the store to "sweep the rod sideways"...I guess we'll see how it works:eek:oooh:.

2. DANNYfrmINDY

DANNYfrmINDY New Member

State:
    Martinsville, Indiana
    Are you using baitrunners? fishing from the bank or a boat?

If your using baitrunners i would leave them off and tighten the drag down good. If your on the bank i would make sure the rods are anchored good. If in a boat make sure your rod holders are tight.
    Either way i would make sure your won't take off and just let the fish load up the rod and set the hook them self. If the fish starts to run for you just try to out reel them and pull the line tight.

I hope this helps.

3. Flatheadhunter33

State:
    Yuma, Arizona
    I have spinning reels on all my rods...and I will be fishing from a boat. Should I just leave the drag off and let the fish run...then tighten that drag down?

4. DANNYfrmINDY

DANNYfrmINDY New Member

State:
    Martinsville, Indiana
    I would leave the drag on and just let the fish run against the rod. Let the rod double down then pick it up and start reeling.

5. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Dont touch the rod untill it is bent over double, then slowly pull back when you feel the fish!

6. Flatheadhunter33

State:
    Yuma, Arizona