First time on the river

Discussion in 'MISSOURI RIVERS TALK' started by osage, Aug 8, 2006.

1. osage

osage New Member

State:
    Grain Valley Mo.
    What do you think is the best way to fish the Mo. for the first time let someone take you or just put the boat in the water and go. I have been wanting to go but with all the stories I'm a little timid.

2. RiverKing

RiverKing New Member

State:
    Yellow Spr
    I would let someone take you first..A big river can be an intimadating place for someone who has never been on it. Also by letting someone take you out, you can see how they set up and how they fish the river. I have been fishing the Ohio for about 10 years, and I hired a guide to take me out the first time..Not only did i learn thr river a little, but i also learned how to go about locating, and fishing for the catfish,,I would strongly recommend either hiring a good guide, or finding someone who fishes the river on a regular basis.

3. Mr.T

Mr.T New Member

State:
    MO
    What Riverking said.

It's pretty spooky the first couple of times out on the river, at least it was for me. That current is disorienting if you're used to sitting on a lake and there are hidden dangers that you don't really want to discover on your own. Night adds a whole new dimension to the spooky factor and can make what would be a minor issue during the daytime turn into a major problem real quick.

I've been on the river now probably a dozen times and feel a whole lot more comfortable than I first did. Still manage to learn something new on every trip though. Latest lesson was on jumping carp...

A guide would be a great way to get introduced to the river. If you hire one, make it clear that you aren't just along for the ride but that you want to learn how to safely conduct yourself out on the river - catching fish with the guide should be a secondary goal.