Fire Extinguisher

Discussion in 'Boat Safety' started by Dave L, Mar 21, 2007.

1. Dave L

Dave L New Member

State:
    Minnesota
    Is there any rule of thumb/coast guard regulation for deciding what size of fire extinguisher you should have on your boat? I don't see to much talk about it and was wondering how big is big enough?

2. SubnetZero

SubnetZero New Member

State:
    Sherman IL
    hmm, good question. Im no expert (but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night :tounge_out:) .. I would say just your standard size you can get at your wally world etc should be good...

I would recommend if you have never used one, buy two, use one when you get/camp/etc... Start up a campfire and put it out.... remember, spray the base of the fire....

3. Dave L

Dave L New Member

State:
    Minnesota
    The reason I ask is when I was at the store the other day I had seen fire extinguishers on display and they had special (white) coast guard approved extinguishers there in many different sizes. So what size do I get? Is it determined by size of boat or size of fuel tank on board or neither?

4. YellaCat

YellaCat New Member

State:
    Alabama
    My extingusher is a 3 pound white bottle of "Regular Dry Chemical" made by Kiddie. Its the one that came with my boat. I have a 16' Alumacraft with a 50 HP Merc and a 9 gal gas tank (below the deck). Hope this helps.

5. jholl949

jholl949 New Member

State:
    Mannford. Oklah
    Dave,
    The small "disposable" ones discharge VERY fast. I'd recommend getting a re-chargeable one from your local fire extinguisher/safety company. It'll cost more at first but will last longer and be more convenient.

6. special liberty

special liberty New Member

State:
    Maryland
    No the USCG doesn't specify - I'ld recommend going with the common sense rule - we probably don't need the biggest and the smallest probably won't be enough if we ever need it. My $.02.

7. Doyle

Doyle New Member

State:
    Illinois