Finding winter blue catfish

Discussion in 'Blue Catfishing' started by Catfish Rick, Jan 2, 2007.

1. Catfish Rick

Catfish Rick New Member

State:
    Kansas
    Good morning and this is my first time on this site. I glad I stumbled onto it. I'm an avid fisherman who fishes the Missouri River near Leavenworth, KS. It's a pretty deep river, lots of current. My biggest this year is a 62 pound Blue. I do well in Spring, Summer and Fall, never tried winter. I've tried several times to fish the scour holes off the end of rock dykes. No luck. Too much current? I used Fresh frozen shad and carp. I know blues like deep holes in winter. Where am I going wrong and where else to I need to try? I'm now trying deep eddies in back of the dykes, off the current. Any and all adivce is much appreciated!
    Rick

2. dougc

dougc Active Member

State:
    Independen
    Well let us know when you figure it out! Spent 5 hrs on the river yesterday checking every scour hole from Riverfront Park upstream past Kaw Point. Couldn't find any signs of fish other than bait, which we had no trouble cast netting. Ended up with a bunch of shad, small drum and quillback. Sat all afternoon without a bite! I know all the fish can't be gone! Probably going to try farther downstream next time, heck might need to go all the way to the Mississippi!

3. MRR

MRR New Member

State:
    Louisiana,Mo.
    Don't know much about the blues but want to WELCOME U to the BOC.Your gonna get HOOKED for sure.When you get them Big Blues figured out let the rest of us know.
    Anyway WELCOME to the big FAMILY!!

4. jsk30

jsk30 New Member

State:
    NC
    Welcome to BOC Rick.

5. bluejay

bluejay Well-Known Member

State:
    Napoleon, Mo.
    Welcome to the BOC Rick. Good luck on that winter bite.

6. blackwaterkatz

blackwaterkatz Active Member

State:
    Andrews, SC