Finding Green River Worms

Discussion in 'Catfishing Baits' started by kyredneck, Feb 22, 2009.

1. kyredneck

kyredneck New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    How many of you all have dug and used these for bait(they're gourmet eating for about every fish in the water here) ? I'm no expert on them and would like to learn more. I've dug them in the silt from winter rains along the river's edge in the spring (I think these are mostly strays washed from upstream) and there's a couple other spots I know of, one is where the stinging nettle grows.

Anyone have any secrets on where to look for them?

2. Dirtdobber

Dirtdobber Guest Staff Member

State:
    Vian Okla
    What is a green river worm?

3. kyredneck

kyredneck New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    They're a stinky green earthworm that lives along creeks and rivers; short and stubby and will curl up in balls when handled; but the fish love them.

4. fishstick

fishstick New Member

State:
    Fouke, Arkansas
    we have what we call a river bottom earthworm here that grows to about 18 to 24 inches long and as big as your little finger.they are tough as boot leather and stay on the hook. they are sure hard to dig up though in the hard river bottom soils and are usually at least 1 1/2 to 2 feet deep.

5. kyredneck

kyredneck New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Naw Billy, that ain't them. These are a tad smaller than a typical redworm and I've never found them in hard or dry ground, it's always been close to water's edge and moist. In fact, I've dug them in the silt from my boat before.

6. Junior42

Junior42 New Member

State:
    Catlettsburg, KY
    What part of Kentucky are you from? Here in Catlettsburg we have a flood wall by the river. We go in behind the flood wall and dig for em' and find plenty.

7. catfishlarryiowa

catfishlarryiowa New Member

State:
    Iowa
    here in Iowa underneath bridges with small creeks an around the bridge pillars.great bait for carp. Larry

8. spanky

spanky New Member

State: