Filleting Method - What do you guys think?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by Spongiform, May 16, 2006.

1. Spongiform

Spongiform New Member

State:
    Virginia
    This method looks pretty simple and easy. What do you guys think?

2. Tinboat

Tinboat New Member

State:
    Jonesboro, Arkansas
    I have been using that method for several years. by filleting the skin off , rather than skinning it , you get rid if the silver underskin. Seems to improve their taste too. Soak in cold salt water, then cook,,, yummy

3. Mr.T

Mr.T New Member

State:
    MO
    Works pretty well and is mighty quick. Some meat is sacrificed, but if you're cleaning a mess of fish, a little missed meat won't amount to much.

You might find it easier to get the fillet off of the skin if you hold the electric knife steady and pull the fish through, rather than pushing the knife through the meat. Hope that description makes sense. Get the knife started, press it flat on the cutting board and pull the fish (with skin still attached) to draw the knife through the meat and separate it from the skin.

On blue cats, there is also a nice big hunk of meat above the rib cage on both sides - make a "C" shaped cut to get it out and use a sharp knife later to take the skin off. It might not be worth the effort on channels, and I don't know about flatheads.

I've also learned to kill the fish (with a kife through the head or a good whack with a hammer), then hang the fish up head first and cut their tails off about 1" above the fin and let them bleed out before you fillet them.

After the fillet is separated from the fish, carefully cut out every bit of red meat and fat that you find - the long line down the middle of the fillet, any red meat on the outside of the fillet and any yellowish fat on the top or bottom edges.

Keep the fillet under running water while you're working on it too.

You'll end up with nice hunks of very clean, very white and very tasty meat.

4. dinkbuster1