few questions

Discussion in 'TENNESSEE RIVERS TALK' started by kaous, Jan 16, 2009.

1. kaous

kaous New Member

State:
    TN
    Hey guys.

I am fairly new to the cat fishing fun. I was just wondering where are some good spots to fish at around the Clarksville area. I've been currently fishing down at the cumberland steam plant and only caught some 1 to 2 lbs there. Was also wondering on how to rig my pole. currently i've been useing a 3 way swivle with a 6/0 circle hook and a 3 ounce weight(not really sure if that is to light for the area). I've been reading that most guys use a 18inch or more leader and i was wondering if that would help out any on catching the fish. I've also been currently useing the guts of the skip jacks i've been getting and was just wondering i should use chunks or like fillet pieces of meat. Any answers to these questions would be a huge help.

GL fishing out there and have fun.:smile2:

2. smokey

smokey New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    WELCOME to the brotherhood.you have asked the right question for this thread!! I dont fish up that far but many of our members do. I bet you will have lots of good info in no time.best of luck to you.
    smokey

3. griz

griz Well-Known Member

State:
    Murray Ky.
    You can use all of the skipjack for bait. The guts, the head and the meat all are very good bait.

4. rwilley3

rwilley3 New Member

State:
    Brighton, Tenne
    For the big ones I don't think you can beat the head or even 1/2 or more of the whole skipjack. It will cut down on the number of bites but I have probably caught 90% of all the fish I catch over 25# on the heads(or more)

5. Sonny Kemp

Sonny Kemp New Member

State:
    Tn