Favorite Places to Catfish In Iowa

Discussion in 'LOCAL IOWA TALK' started by mr.snag, Jul 26, 2009.

1. mr.snag

mr.snag New Member

State:
    IA
    Hello just wanted to start this thread for everyone to tell there fav lakes or river to fish for cats in Iowa .... I'm relatively new to catfishing but i will say the Missouri River along rock dikes has been ok for me . I have yet to get a monster but I'm working on it !!!

Where in Iowa is that mighty monster catfish lurking????????? One day i will find it .

2. postbeetle

postbeetle New Member

State:
    Iowa
    Good luck Lad. Once ya get past the 2-4-D, Nitrogen and hog manure you might land a nice fiddler. Don't eat anything over 3 lbs and you can catch them on a simple J-hook.

3. Catfish_Calvin

Catfish_Calvin New Member

State:
    Nauvoo, Il

Is this guy serious?

4. Iowa_Josh

Iowa_Josh New Member

State:
    Central Iowa
    Well, yeah he is serious. Lots of manure spills happen, watch the news and the DNR reports.

5. bownero

bownero New Member

State:
    Hastings, Ne.
    Even though I don't reside in Iowa, I can tell you my cousin does. He's always telling me stories about the monsters coming from the Des Moines River. Where on the river? Not sure. Just have to do some research on it.

Good luck on the quest for the monster. Keep at it and it will happen!!

6. mr.snag

mr.snag New Member

State:
    IA
    I'm not sure what to make of his comments lol ..

7. Iowa_Josh

Iowa_Josh New Member

State:
    Central Iowa
    I've caught the stories too but they don't fight that hard.

8. Ahquabi_Master

Ahquabi_Master New Member

State:
    WDM Iowa