favorite flathead catfish bait and how do u catch it

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by loganfrum94, Aug 20, 2009.

1. loganfrum94

loganfrum94 New Member

State:
    ohio
    hi im new to the boc and website i was just wandering how u catch ur favorite flatty bait and wat it is

2. KATTERMAN

KATTERMAN New Member

State:
    OKLA
    i like bluegills,sunfish,perch ect..and bullheads,for gills i catch them with the skins off a weiner with no weight and small hook,berkley makes a bait called crappie nibblets thats works good also i keep a jar in tackle box you never know when you might come across a good gill hole,some people use goldfish.i also like small carp if i can find them//welcome to boc you can learn on hear from these guys in a week what would take years on your own.good luck and good fishing

3. WhoJosh

WhoJosh New Member

State:
    Hamilton,Ohio
    My favorite flathead bait is suckers, usually 6" to 9". For me the best way to catch them is with a cast net. Anywhere I use them, I always seem to have good luck. Other good flathead baits that I like to use are creek chubs, bluegill, freshwater drum, and gizzard shad.

4. ramon06

ramon06 Well-Known Member

State:
    Alabama
    Doesnt know if this will help. Caught my 3 small ones, 2 on a Rapala (1-crawdad colored and 1 shad colored) 1 on a glow worm, and my big 30+ was on a 6" Bluegill head

5. bedbug jr

bedbug jr New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Hello Logan and welcome to the BOC. I'm partial to live gills and creek chubs for flatties. I use a small hook (crappie) with a piece of worm under a small bobber on an ultra lite fishing holes in small creeks. Some people ust castnets, but it took three people to cut me out when I tried one:smile2::smile2: If I'm fishing current I'll hook my bait thru the lips and in slower water, behind the dorsal fin. Stay safe and hope you stick a pig!!!:wink:

6. gilmafam

gilmafam Well-Known Member

State:
    California