Fall Turnover?

Discussion in 'GEORGIA LAKES / RESERVOIRS TALK' started by Fishmaster1203, Sep 30, 2008.

1. Fishmaster1203

Fishmaster1203 New Member

State:
    PA
    Is your lake turning over? Looks like West Point Lake is. There is a slimey looking film floating on the surface and nothing is biting. What is your lake looking like?

2. Yakdawg

Yakdawg New Member

State:
    Cumming, GA
    I am new to fishing large lakes, but lanier looked normal Sunday!

Someone said that the temps getting colder earlier would make the turnover not as bad as normal this year??

3. brother hilljack

brother hilljack New Member

State:
    Shelbyville, TN
    Sorry to hear about the early turn and the no bite. Thanks for the update and I would be interested to hear what other lakes are doing.

4. Fishmaster1203

State:
    PA
    Lanier is a deeper, colder lake than West Point. It should turn over before long though. It probably has to get just a little cooler, which is fixing to happen. I don't think that it getting colder earlier will make the turnover on Lanier any different. When it turns it turns.

5. brother hilljack

State:
    Shelbyville, TN
    I am not exactly sure what causes the turn. How does the weather affect it? I have heard of it and witnessed it. I would assume that it corrisponds with the typical on land growing season.

6. Fishmaster1203

State:
    PA