Extreme Weather Catfishing- New PB!

Discussion in 'MEMBER FISHING REPORTS (BECOME A FISHING LEGEND)' started by stumpjumper, Mar 18, 2009.

1. stumpjumper

stumpjumper New Member

State:
    Dallas, GA
    A good friend of mine and fellow BOC member, bream reaper, came down for four days and nights of camping and catfishing. Dan and I have been catfishing together for over 17 years now and we have had many memorable trips over the years. This trip was no exception... it will go down in the books for sure!

First let me preface by saying that the camping conditions are very primitive. We knew in advance that the weather forecast was looking grim to say the least, but you can't catch 'em if you don't try. We were first faced with an extreme cold front that brought ~36 hours of strong winds out of the northeast. At times the wind would gust to 30 mph! It was brutal. This was immediately followed with over 40 hours of constant rain and drizzle with chilly temperatures (45-50 degree highs). We had no way to get out of the rain unless we stopped fishing, which was obviously not an option. It wasn't until mid-morning our last day that the rain stopped.

We caught a number of nice fish, but as you can imagine, we had to work pretty hard given the conditions. Overall, we were very successful and ended with some decent numbers. The big fish was a healthy 59 pounder that became Dan's new PB Blue catfish beating out his 50 pounder he caught last year. He also landed a nice 55 pounder that put up a great fight. It was an awesome trip!

I didn't even get home until 2:30 am on Monday and I had to work at 6:30 am! Dan made the haul back up to Indiana and finally made it home by 11:30 am! After a day of recovery, I am ready to do it again. It's hard to beat a catfishing trip with a great friend... good times!

A few pictures...

Attached Files:

2. john catfish young

john catfish young New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Those are some nice fish. Congrats on a good trip. :cool2: