El Centro, California

Discussion in 'LOCAL CALIFORNIA TALK' started by trigger22, May 26, 2009.

1. trigger22

trigger22 New Member

State:
    North Carolina
    Hey guys I am a noob to Catfish 1, used to be a BOC member and am an avid catfisherman. I found this site searching for information on El Centro catfishing. Basically I am active duty Marine and out here on the NAF for a couple of days. I have fished a couple of the public ponds but only caught a few bream. I saw a guy catch a few channel cats but didnt have any luck myself. I have now decided to move onto canal fishing, just curious where to start. There are a bunch of canals around and I have no idea where to begin on that type of fishing. I have read about the All American Canal, where is this at? it seems like my best bet. Thanks ahead of time for any help.

2. daystarchis

daystarchis New Member

State:
    Clovis Cali
    Welocome to the BOC Tony:wink:

3. dhines

dhines New Member

State:
    LA / Calexico
    i guess it all depends on your perspective, if you are willing to drive out to the east highline, that is the best place to go. personally, i think all the unlined canals produce good catfish, so i fish the one that is closest to me.

reason being, the closer it is . . . the more prone you will be to fish it, and the more you will learn about its ins and outs. have you tried the central main canal west of the 111 and south of herber? lots of good fishing there.

btw, if you are planning on eating the fish, pay attention to the source of the canal you are fishing. use google earth and see if the source is the AAC or farm runoff. if you are fishing a farm runoff canal, don't eat what you catch.

one last thing . . .

welcome to the board

4. Whistler

Whistler Well-Known Member

State:
    TN